Friday, November 4, 2011

Jason Adasiewicz > RISING STAR Vibes > 2011Downbeat Readers Poll

Jason Adasiewicz is a vibraphonist, drummer, and composer. He is an integral member of Chicago's jazz and improvised music scene, bringing his aggressive yet lyrical style to over 10 working Chicago groups, including Rob Mazurek's Exploding Star Orchestra and Starlicker, The Nicole Mitchell Ice Crystal Quartet, Mike Reed's Loose Assembly, Josh Berman and His Gang, and Ken Vandermark's Topology. Adasiewicz performs frequently in Europe and is a member of groups lead by Peter Brotzmann, Stefano Bollani, and Mats Gustafsson. Adasiewicz won the 2011 Downbeat Annual Critic's Poll in the Rising Star Vibes category, and for the last 3 years has placed in the Vibes category. For the last two years Jason has been nominated by the Jazz Journalists Association as a finalist for 'Mallet Instrumentalist of the Year'. His quintet Rolldown, with Josh Berman, Aram Shelton, Jason Roebke, and Frank Rosaly, formed in 2004 and have released two records, Rolldown (482 Music, 2008) and Varmint (Cuneiform Records, 2009). His trio Sun Rooms, with Mike Reed and Nate McBride, formed in 2009 and have released one record, Sun Rooms (Delmark, 2010). The critical attention that Sun Rooms received includes: the New York Times Top 10 Pop and Jazz Records of 2010, The Village Voice Top 50 Jazz Records of 2010, The Chicago Tribune Top 10 Jazz Records of 2010, Dusted Magazine Top Jazz Records of 2010, and The Chicago Reader Top Albums of 2010. Sun Rooms will release their second record, Spacer, for Delmark in October of 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment