Wednesday, August 21, 2013

New Release > Robert Glasper Experiment

On their 2012 breakout Black Radio, Robert Glasper Experiment laid out a new paradigm for creative music, reaching beyond entrenched genre boundaries to create a singular vision that drew from all reaches of contemporary black music and beyond. Black Radio drew unanimous praise from critics across the board and earned Glasper the highest chart positions of his career when the album debuted at #10 on Billboard‘s Top Current Albums chart, also claiming the #1 spot on both theBillboard Jazz chart and the iTunes R&B chart. The album kept earning accolades all the way to the 2013 GRAMMY Awards where Black Radio was awarded Best R&B Album.

On October 29, RGE ups the ante with the release of Black Radio 2 (Blue Note), another genre-defying effort that takes the Black Radio blueprint and builds to even greater heights. The core remains the Experiment, as astoundingly versatile a band as has ever existed, featuring Robert Glasper on keyboards, Derrick Hodge on bass, Mark Colenburg on drums, and Casey Benjamin on vocoder and saxophone. Providing the vocals throughout is another jaw-dropping roll call of vocalists including CommonPatrick StumpBrandyJill ScottDweleMarsha AmbrosiusAnthony Hamilton,Faith EvansNorah JonesSnoop DoggLupe FiascoLuke JamesEmeli SandéLalah Hathaway, andMalcolm-Jamal Warner.

The track listing for Black Radio 2 is as follows:
  1. Baby Tonight (Black Radio Intro)
  2. I Stand Alone featuring Common and Patrick Stump
  3. What Are We Doing featuring Brandy
  4. Calls featuring Jill Scott
  5. No Worries featuring Dwele
  6. Trust featuring Marsha Ambrosius
  7. Yet To Find featuring Anthony Hamilton
  8. You Own Me featuring Faith Evans
  9. Let It Ride featuring Norah Jones
  10. Persevere featuring Snoop Dogg,  Lupe Fiasco and Luke James
  11. Somebody Else featuring Emeli Sandé
  12. Jesus Children of America featuring Lalah Hathaway and Malcolm-Jamal Warner

While waiting the release

No comments:

Post a Comment