Thursday, December 8, 2011

The Three Sounds

The Three Sounds (also known as The 3 Sounds) were an American jazz trio that formed in 1956 and disbanded in 1973. The trio played and recorded with Lester Young, Lou Donaldson, Nat Adderley, Johnny Griffin, Anita O'Day, Bucky Pizzarelli, Stanley Turrentine and Sonny Stitt among others.
The band formed in Benton Harbor, Michigan as the Four Sounds. The original line-up consisted of Gene Harris on piano, Andrew Simpkins on double bass and Bill Dowdy on drums, along with saxophonist Lonnie `The Sound' Walker, who dropped out the following year. The group moved to Washington and then New York, where, as the Three Sounds,, they cut a record for Riverside Records, before signing an exclusive contract with Blue Note.
Between 1958 and 1962, the group released nine LPs for Blue Note. They toured nationally during this period, building a large following in jazz clubs across the country. Later Three Sounds recordings were also released by Limelight and Verve Records.
The song "Put On Train", from 1970's Live at It Club was featured as the prominent background sample in the hip-hop group Beastie Boys song "What Comes Around" on their 1989 album Paul's Boutique.
1958: Introducing the 3 Sounds
1958: Branching Out with Nat Adderley
1959: Bottoms Up!
1959: LD + 3 with Lou Donaldson
1959: Good Deal
1960: Moods
1960: Feelin' Good
1960: Here We Come
1960: It Just Got to Be
1960: Blue Hour with Stanley Turrentine
1961: Hey There
1961: Babe's Blues
1962: Out of This World
1962: Black Orchid
1962: Blue Genes
1962: The Three Sounds Play Jazz on Broadway
1963: Anita O'Day & The Three Sounds
1963: Jazz on Broadway
1963: Some Like It Modern
1964: Live at the Living Room
1964: Three Moods
1965: Beautiful Friendship
1966: Today's Sounds
1966: Vibrations
1967: Live at the Lighthouse
1968: Coldwater Flat
1968: Elegant Soul
1969: Soul Symphony
1970: Live at the "It Club"
1971: The 3 Sounds - Gene Harris album

No comments:

Post a Comment